Writing Habits / Writer’s Guilt

caroline cabrera

eb441699c74d82ca909034a619dfb0c8

When it comes to writing habits, I always throw myself headlong into the one that’s working, knowing that it will only work so long.

I find a habit (going to the same coffee shop for a set amount of time each week, getting the same drink and treat and writing until I work through them, people watching all along OR writing only at my kitchen table and only on paper OR writing right before bed, while actually lying in bed and then waking up and editing last night’s writing in the morning OR whatever) and I fall in love with it, but I know deep down, that our love is doomed. As much as I want to write, as much as I love writing when I’m doing it, I still, somehow, try to avoid writing. A new routine excites me; it gives me a sense of purpose; it keeps me…

View original post 815 more words

Leave a Reply

